What’SUP Yoga?!

I have to admit, doing the downward facing dog on a floor that doesn’t move is already a challenge for me..

Imagine trying it on a board on the water!

I have always loved doing yoga, occasionally, but my poses always look slightly different then I imagine them. The yoga teachers always make it look so easy and relaxing, but surprise : It’s hard work!

Now this weekend, since I’m such a pro,  I practiced yoga in a wetsuit, on the water, on a stand up paddle board! Ha, awesome right! Stand up paddling (SUP) yoga is a combination of stand up paddling surfing (originally from Hawaii) with yoga! It’s so much fun! I mean, just look at the view and you’ll understand why people love it:

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

It is a great way to get fit and interact with nature. You’re active, enjoying the view around you and just happily chatting and having fun with other people. I have to say I was very surprised that I was able to stay on my board and did not end up face down in the water!

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

We did loads of cool stuff. I was able to lie down, sit, stand, walk, anything – and still staying on the board! Of course it was very nice to practice Yoga with an instructor that is so passionate about Yoga and is able to smoothly show us all the poses!

I asked her why she decided to start doing SUP Yoga: “I love combining Yoga with exciting outdoor experiences. Being out on the water instead of in a sweaty indoor Yoga studio makes it so much more fun!” –  Stefanie Dohrmann, SUP Yoga Cape Town.

And I  couldn’t agree more, it does make it a lot of fun! It just adds this little extra to the workout that makes you happy, motivated and relaxed while you’re on the water.

©2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

©2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

© 2013 Herman Jordaan

SUP Yoga has became popular all over the world now: Hawaii, Barcelona, Singapore, Costa Rica, France etc. I’m so glad it came to Cape Town now as well!

To find out more about SUP Yoga in (Muizenberg) Cape Town : Check this out!

Stefanie also organizes Yoga & Hikes, where Yoga is combined with a hike up Lions Head or Table Mountain.

I’ll promise you, you’ll definitely have a great time and you can work on your fitness in this amazing environment!

Love,

C

One response to “What’SUP Yoga?!

  1. Pingback: Fun things to do in Cape Town | TRAVEL·

Share your thoughts with us!

