Tasting the sunshine at Bacchus Winefestival Amsterdam

Wine tasting, sunshine & good company: perfect ingredients for a great day!

After I became an expert in wine drinking in South Africa, I decided to keep up the good work in the Netherlands. Last weekend in Amsterdam there was a wine festival in ‘het Amsterdamse Bos’: Bacchus Wijnfestival. I was super excited! Relax and really feel like its weekend. Dream back to the weekends of going to wine farms when I was in Cape Town.

So, there I was. I cycled for half an hour to get there, so I was perfectly ready to replete my body with energy in the form of wine & amazing food.

Bacchus wine

Blue sky and sunshine, I almost think it’s the start of summer again! Please? I can’t get enough of days like this!

First we got ourselves a glass, then we walked to one of the wine bars and then.. there was our first glass of wine! A red one to start with, followed by a delicious Sauvignon Blanc.

wine tasting

Very interesting were also the great wines from the Hermitage. The guys behind the wine bar were very nice and could help me choose a really nice wine. I had a red wine from Macedonie, a country I hadn’t actually tried wine from before!

WineBar

If you didn’t just want to drink wine, there were enough lovely places to eat. For example this one from Etikette, where you could have a great dinner & dessert in a romantic vibe with the sunshine coming in.

Dinner Table

And how cute is this? Candyfloss and little Dutch pancakes! Yum!

Food

All together, I had a great time at Bacchus Winefestival and I think it’s a great initiative. Everyone seemed to be having a great time and of course we were lucky that the weather was great. Even at night it was still very nice to be outside and stay around a bit to listen to the music and have nice conversations, while enjoying a last glass of wine before bedtime.

Bacchus

Wanna check out what wineries & restaurants were involved? Check their website: Bacchus Wijnfestival. You’ll find all the info your looking for. Because it’s not just a three day event happening in Amsterdam, it’s a place where all the great wine and food comes together! For more pictures of the festival, also check out Discovering Secrets’ Facebook page. I’m looking forward to a next edition!

Love,

Cyn

Discovering Secrets

Cynthia

Share your thoughts with us!